



Center for Real Estate Wichita State University W. Frank Barton School of Business 1845 Fairmount Wichita, KS 67260-0077 Contact: Stanley D. Longhofer director, Center for Real Estate stan.longhofer@wichita.edu/realestate
www.wichita.edu/realestate
316-978-7163

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 16, 2022

Willard Garvey and the Garvey family named recipients of the 2022 Kansas CCIM Chapter / WSU Center for Real Estate Lifetime Achievement Award

Willard Garvey and the Garvey family have been named the 2022 recipients of the Kansas CCIM Chapter / WSU Center for Real Estate Lifetime Achievement Award. This honor is given annually to those who have made a significant contribution to the commercial real estate and/or development industry in Wichita over a long period of time.

The Garvey family has been instrumental in Wichita's development for more than 80 years. In 1940, Ray Hugh Garvey and his son Willard established Builders Inc., through which they built and managed over 2,000 apartments and attached fourplexes, around 5,000 single-family "cottages," and several shopping centers. After Ray Hugh's death in 1959, Willard Garvey took over the organization and was responsible for numerous Wichita landmarks including the Garvey Center, Epic Center, The Independent School, several neighborhoods including Bonnie Brae, much of the Southwest Industrial Park, and additional apartment projects. The Garvey family continues to be active in the Wichita real estate community to this day, through Builders Inc., Bonavia Properties, and Cochener Garvey Capital Partners among others.

The award will be given at a luncheon hosted by the WSU Center for Real Estate and the Kansas CCIM Chapter at 11:30 a.m. Thursday Dec. 15, at the Marcus Welcome Center on the Wichita State campus. For reservations and more information, call the Realtors of South Central Kansas office at 316-263-3167.

Garvey is the 17th recipient of the award. Previous recipients include Colby Sandlian (2005), Jack Hunt (2006), George Ablah (2007), Jack DeBoer (2008), Nestor & Michael Weigand (2009), Stephen L. Clark (2010) and Herbert L. Krumsick (2011), David Burk (2012), Rod M. Stewart (2013), Donald C. Slawson (2014), Darrell Leason (2015), Phil Ruffin (2016), George Laham (2017), Steven J. Martens (2018), Paul Jackson (2019) and Stanley D. Longhofer (2021).

For more information, contact Stan Longhofer with the WSU Center for Real Estate at 316-978-7163 or stan.longhofer@wichita.edu, or Michael Loveland with the Kansas CCIM Chapter at 316-292-3915 or loveland@weigand.com.